The Glass Man is a finalist!!!

So … I’m laying tiles in my kitchen Saturday afternoon, tired, sweaty and covered in sticky stuff, when the phone rings.  My hubby answers, then hands me the phone, saying it’s some literary association.

Huh?  What literary association would be calling me?  And more importantly, why?  So, I answer and the nice lady says she’s calling about my entery in the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Association’s literary contest, The Glass Man, and I’m a finalist.

After her words punch through my dense mental fog, my brilliant response is:  I’m … what?

With all of the excitement over my publication success recently, I’d completely forgotten I’d entered the competition last fall, and certainly never expected to be a finalist when I know how many entries they receive every year.  She asked if I could come out to their conference in August where they’ll announce the winner, but unfortunately, with my new job, that isn’t possible.  She then lavished me with praise for my writing, let me know someone would be contacting me for my author bio and a photo, and that the winner would receive a monetary prize and bragging rights.

I hung up the phone and stared at it for a good few minutes before it sank in what a big deal this is, even if I don’t win the “big” prize.  A group of people who read through hundreds of stories placed mine in the top 8 of my genre.  Wow.  How freakin’ cool is that!!!!!  I was beaming for the rest of the day.

I’m not sure what I did right in 2011 to have my stars align so perfectly, but I’m thankful all the same.  Add in my loving family, a new job with a spectacular view over Lake Muskoka, good health and great friends, and I consider myself a very fortunate girl.

14 thoughts on “The Glass Man is a finalist!!!

  1. OMG!! That’s from my neck of the woods. Congratulations!! Maybe I’ll see if I can go so I can hear them announce your name as winner since we all know you’ll win! Squee!!!

  2. I still can’t wait to see how it turned out after your tweaking. All I know is maybe I need to go to Canada and rub all over you liek a cat for some of that mojo you have. 🙂

    • Hahahaha!!! I think all you’d get out of that deal is a bad case of static cling, cause I have no idea where this mojo is coming from. 🙂 I’m pretty happy with the finished product. The ending is a bit different than when you read it.

  3. OMG, Kastil, I nearly snorted my tea out reading your comment. Haaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaha! I’m still voting Jo as our benefactor to Fiji. Anyone want to start the planning? Maybe 2013?? 🙂

    • Ha! Don’t I wish. Most writers are lucky to afford a new hat on the royalties from a first book. 😀 Thanks for the confidence boost all the same. 🙂

  4. WOW Jo..How cool is that? You poured your heart and soul into your writing and it has paid off BIG TIME….I hope you are as proud of yourself as I am..you have been truly Blessed! You are on your way to stardom….keep on writing..you are such a good writer..and this proves it beyond a shadow of a doubt!!!
    Love Mom!

Leave a Reply

