{Author’s Corner} Staying motivated

038_design_elements_vector-wallpaper-star-free-vector

I will never write a five star book.

Now, hold your horses, I’m not being negative, or suffering from self-esteem issues, or fishing for compliments—those who know me will already know that.  This statement is how I motivate myself to write bigger and better.

Let me explain.

I’m one of those people who has to try harder than most others to be good at anything, even things that seem simple, like throwing and catching a ball, or playing a board game.  Because of that, I have to really, really, really want to do something before I’ll put in the tremendous effort/practice/learning it takes for me to be able to do it, and do it well.

When I find those rare gems that speak to me, tell me “you can totally do this”, like archery and writing, I set the standards for what I consider “success” really high.  As in, can never reach it, high.

So let me make my statement again, with a caveat.

I will never write a five star book…in my own eyes.

If I allow myself to believe I’ve reached that ultimate place of perfection, that will be the day I stop writing.  If it’s always out there in the distance, elusive and ultimately unknown, then there is still more knowledge to be learned, more techniques to be perfected, more pieces of my soul to be chipped off and woven into my stories in new and surprising ways.

It’s the only way I know how to keep pushing myself, to get the books to a point where the reader will feel in their entire body what I want them to feel, and be able to disappear from reality for just a little while into a world I create for them.

That, in the end, is perfection to me.

It’s hard on the psyche sometimes, and the nerves, but it works.  And you thought I was just mean to my characters.  🙂

What motivates you to keep writing?

7 thoughts on “{Author’s Corner} Staying motivated

  1. I love your motivation! Unfortunately I don’t have much pushing me on these days. 😦

    In my eyes, you’re a 5 star book writer without question.

  2. I think you’re a 5-star author but I know what you mean. I can’t even get past my first novel because I don’t think it’s good enough for me. I have to find a way around that because it may be 5 star to someone else. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be happy with what I write. Is that a curse of all authors? I wonder. Keep writing your amazing novels because to me…you’re one of the best.

    • That’s what your beta-readers are for. Eventually I get so story-blind after the umpteenth edit that I have no feel for the story anymore. It takes a few whips cracked in my direction, and maybe a few positive comments, too, before I know if I’ve succeeded or not. The key is to throw it out there and give it a whirl or you may never know just how much of a gem you have there. 🙂

      • Yeah, trust me. this puppy’s been through lots of beta readers. It’s my fault. I keep tweaking. I don’t like this. I don’t like that. He should say this not that. it’s never good enough. I don’t think if JK Rowling told me it was the best book she’s ever read in her life I’d believe her. I really have to get over this self inflicted pain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

