{Meet the Author} Viola Ryan #giveaway

MeetTheAuthor header

Welcome to a fresh new addition of Meet the Author and a blog tour stop for Viola Ryan, author of The Mark of Abel.  Below, you can enter to win a $50.00 Amazon gift certificate.  Who couldn’t use more books?

Lovely to have you here, Viola.  Have you ever done what the author t-shirts threaten and written somebody you dislike into a story?  No need to name names, or anything.    If so, what did you put them through?

In one of the original drafts of The Mark of Abel I put my arch-enemy from my childhood in. When I  say arch-enemy, I mean we met after school and actually fist fought multiple times. She was incredibly popular and blackballed me from third grade on (we started out as best friends in third grade). It wasn’t until high school that I really had friends again. I needed someone bitchy for the dean of the college where my heroine taught art appreciation.  Dean McKneely ended up edited out before I submitted my draft, but it felt good to write about her.

Holy Hell Tour

I bet that actually felt better to write her out.  Torture her for a while, then just erase her.  Yeah, that works.  🙂  What author do you most admire?  What about him/her earned the place at the top of your list?

I’m going to count Joss Whedon as an author, since he writes screenplays. I started writing because I was inspired by Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I learned how to write listening to his and the other writers at Mutant Enemies talk about how they wrote the show. I admire Joss for three main reasons. 1. His message of female empowerment extended beyond the script to how he empowered women like Marti Noxon and Jane Espenson.  2. He isn’t one of those writers who hides away in a writing cave. He interacts with his fans, allows fan-fiction, and is a phenomenal ambassador for the genre.  He not only shows us how to write, but how to be a writer. 3. His speculative fiction is full of meaning. It is much more than mindless entertainment. I used to belong to a group  called the Existential Scoobies.  We talked about the show on many levels, including philosophical and psychological.

Awesome.  I’m a fan as well.  Firefly was amazing.  Are there any other fantastic novels waiting to burst free from your imagination in the future?

Next up is The Chalice of Creation. It will continue with the redemption theme started in The Mark of Abel. The tagline is “Lucifer must find the Chalice of Creation before fallen angels or face humanity’s extermination.”

I’m intrigued by the blurb for The Mark of Abel, and this one is just as enticing.  How much of you is in your hero/heroine?

This was a tricky one. I come from Buffy/Angel fan-fiction. The worst thing you can possibly do in fan-fiction is create a Mary Sue. That is when the author inserts herself into the story as a wish fulfillment in such a way that it degrades the canon characters. I was  uber-leary of putting any of myself in my heroine.  I made her an artist because I cannot paint  (at least I used to not be able to. I had to learn hot to in order to write her scenes. At my website http://www.violaryan.com you can see my paintings). I made her look as different from me as possible. She turned out boring. Then I poured myself into her and she came to life. i even dressed her by going to my closet. At book signings, I plan to wear the black quilted oriental jacket she’s always wearing.

I think every MC has to have a little of his/her author to have that extra spark.  Very interesting journey you took with your heroine.  If you could be a superhero, what would your power be and why?

I want to be able to fly. If you can fly, you don’t have to worry about falling. I’m not scared of heights, so much as I don’t trust my own balance. I’m a major clutz. I’d love to look at the world from above. I’d love to be able to travel from one place to another  by going “as the crow flies.” I’d love to feel the wind caress me as I cut through it.

Yikes.  I’d join you if not for my pee-my-pants fear of heights.  Give me a motorcycle, and that’s as close as I’ll get to flying.  🙂 If you could live your life as an animal, what would it be and why?

I’m a cat at heart. I like to fall asleep while sunning myself. I like choosing who I deal with and who I turn my tail at and walk away. I wish I could get people to wait on me like cat owners do. And …ooh look….shiny thing.

*snort*  That’d be the life, wouldn’t it?  I’d totally pick that, too, if it weren’t for the tiny little paw fingers that aren’t much good for writing books.  🙂  Best.  Movie.  Ever.  As in, went to the theatre ten times to see it.

As I said, I adore Joss Whedon. It would be a tie between Avengers and Serenity. I’ve seen Serenity in the theatre 5 times, including 2 sneak previews.  I even dressed up at Inara for one of them. I’ve only seen Avengers in the theatre 2 times.  I’ve seen both countless times on DVD/Blu-Ray, including with commentary.

Serenity was how I discovered Firefly, though I saw it at home.  Good choice.  If I found a genie in a bottle, my three wishes would be __________.

I’d have one wish. I’d want to be a genie. Thanks to Romance Writers of America, I  have a huge autograph collection. My favorite comes from Rachel Caine. It’s in Total Eclipse the last Weather Warden novel. It reads “To  Jeanie, who is  probably secretly a Jeannie, or, maybe a DJINN! Rachel Caine.” I adore her.

And now for the pretty.  Check it out!  What a great cover.

themarkofabel333x500 (2)Back of the Book:

Lucifer is fed up with humanity. He created hell to deter evil, but man’s inhumanity is only escalating. He just wants to return home to heaven, but ever since that little problem in the Garden of Eden, the Pearly Gates remain firmly shut to him. It doesn’t help that he’s the first vampire, an abomination in God’s sight.

 

Fortunately, two thousand years ago Lucifer’s estranged brother, Jesus, gave him a prophecy. To fulfill it, all Lucifer has to do is find the right artist, study her artwork and the path back to heaven will be revealed. The artist even bears a symbol so he knows who she is. Too bad she is murdered every time he finds her.

 

Janie’s a frustrated artist and college art teacher who wants two things—a guy she can show her paintings to and a night without nightmares. Each nightmare plagues her until she paints it. She doesn’t realize these paintings are key to unlocking her destiny, one that could redeem the original fallen angel.

Connect with Viola:

Website: http://www.violaryan.com

Blog: http://violaryanauthor.blogspot.com/:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jeanie.ryan.9

pinterest: http://pinterest.com/violaryan/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6922260.Viola_Ryan

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/violaryan

Givewaway

Click here for a chance to win a $50.00 Amazon gift card.  Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 thoughts on “{Meet the Author} Viola Ryan #giveaway

  1. Mixing them went pretty easy. I was surprised it wasn’t done before. Fallen Angels/Lucifer are demons and vampires are demons. Using math, if A=B and C=B than A=C. I had a blast writing it. The children of the Grigori in the Bible are condemned to drink blood, so in a way they are early vampires.

  2. Great Interview! I so agree with wanting to be a cat – that would have been my same answer!… Awesome novel too. I really like what you did with Lucifer and the concept of hell. Who woulda thought of Lucifer as a romantic hero?! Love it.

  3. Viola, so nice to meet you. We have Joss Whedon in common. I haven’t seen a series or movie I didn’t like–of his.

    If I could only create worlds and language like that.

    • i wasn’t thrilled with Dolls House, but his heart was never in it. Eliza Dushko was approached by Fox (cue ominous music) about doing a series. She went to Joss for advice. In the course of meeting with her, he came up with Dolls house as an example of the type of show she should do. She approached Fox and they wanted it.

Leave a Reply

