What kind of animal would J.C. Martin be? #oracle #meettheauthor

 

I have a very special Meet the Author Friday … er … Wednesday for you.  Welcome to the next stop on the Oracle blog tour, the masterpiece of J.C. Martin. 

Welcome, welcome, to the great white north.  Tell us about your road to publication.  Was it short and sweet?  Long and winding with many bumps?

It was relatively short and sweet. I queried some agents initially, with one of them requesting a full. However, because the setting for Oracle is so current, I realized that the agent route would not get the book released in time for the London 2012 Olympics. As such, I started shopping for publishers that accept unsolicited submissions. J. Taylor Publishing was the first publisher I submitted to, and lucky for me, they liked Oracle enough to want to publish it—all in time for the Games!

It’s easy to see why.  I’ve already had the pleasure of reading it, and I agree wholeheartedly.  Loved it.  How much of you is in your heroine? 

Kurt Lancer’s partner-in-crime-fighting, Detective Sam Blaize, is a no-nonsense, fiery redhead and pocket dynamite. Like her, I tend not to suffer fools, although I’m more laid-back, and tend not to be quite as vocal and upfront about it. Like me, Sam is a petite lady who likes to kick butt. I may not have an amateur kickboxing title like she does, but I do teach martial arts, and have a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Wing Chun.

Awesome!  Remind me not to tick you off.  😉  So we know what you’re like now, how about in high school?  Band dork?  Jock?  Loner?  Brainiac?

I was the brainiac/tomboy, although I was selective in my braininess. In Malaysia, we studied certain subjects in Malay and Chinese, and I was never much good in them, but any subject taught in English (especially Science and Maths) I excelled in. I remember being in charge of providing revision notes on English Literature to the whole class, as well as playing basketball with the boys because the girls didn’t want to get sweaty.

Wow, Malaysia!  I’ve heard it’s beautiful.  And we’ve added another braniac to the list, folks.  Definitely seeing a trend here.  😉  Do you have any phobias, like run-screaming-at-the-mere-mention-of-it, fears?

My three biggest fears are needles, heights, and lizards. Snakes I can handle, but somehow reptiles with legs totally freak me out! Not a convenient fear growing up in a country where geckos are a more common house guest than mice or spiders.

I hear you on the heights, but I have to admit I love little lizards.  Having said that, I’m not sure I’d want them in my house.  🙂  What does your dream house look like, including an ideal oasis from which to write your masterpieces?

I don’t want a massive house: four or five bedrooms, a good-sized kitchen for me to potter around in, and a big garden for my dogs to play in! And of course, I need my private writer’s study, soundproofed from the rest of the house, where my computer and shelves of books live. Comfy ergonomic chair is a must!

Oh yes, the chair is important, isn’t it?  Biggest pet peeve, can be in writing or about people or circumstances.

People getting “your” and “you’re”, “their” and “there” confused; people who leave dried-up toothpaste in the bathroom sink.

Ha!  I’m with you on the toothpaste thing.  Rinse, people, that’s what the tap is for!  🙂  If you could live your life as an animal, what would it be and why?

I’d love to be a dolphin, with all the freedom of surfing the waves and exploring undiscovered underwater worlds.

That would be pretty neat, and they’re darn cute, aren’t they?  Do you love the country or the city?

I’m a suburban kind of girl. I love the green and open spaces of the country, but like the convenience of the city close by.

That could pretty much describe me, too.  LOVE the country, but I admit to missing a few amenities the city has to offer.   Thanks so much for stopping by, J.C., it’s been a pleasure.  Now for the pretty.  Check out Oracle!

Back of the Book

With London gearing up to host the Olympics, the city doesn’t need a serial killer stalking the streets, but they’ve got one anyway.

Leaving a trail of brutal and bizarre murders, the police force is no closer to finding the latest psychopath than Detective Inspector Kurt Lancer is in finding a solution for his daughter’s disability.

Thrust into the pressure cooker of a high profile case, the struggling single parent is wound tight as he tries to balance care of his own family with the safety of a growing population of potential victims.

One of whom could be his own daughter.

Fingers point in every direction as the public relations nightmare grows, and Lancer’s only answer comes in the form of a single oak leaf left at each crime scene.

Purchase Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

About the Author

J.C. Martin is a butt-kicking bookworm: when she isn’t reading or writing, she teaches martial arts and self-defence to adults and children.

After working in pharmaceutical research, then in education as a schoolteacher, she decided to put the following to good use: one, her 2nd degree black belt in Wing Chun kung fu; and two, her overwhelming need to write dark mysteries and gripping thrillers with a psychological slant.

Her short stories have won various prizes and have been published in several anthologies. Oracle is her first novel.

Born and raised in Malaysia, J.C. now lives in south London with her husband and three dogs.

Connect with J.C. here: Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook

6 thoughts on “What kind of animal would J.C. Martin be? #oracle #meettheauthor

  1. You and I are on the same page — “People getting “your” and “you’re”, “their” and “there” confused; people who leave dried-up toothpaste in the bathroom sink.”

    I can almost live with the rest but the toothpaste, what’s with that!

    Oh and nice to meet you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

