Has Rebecca Hart ever written someone she knows into a novel? #meettheauthor

Is it really Friday again already?  Hokey-potatoes, the weeks are flying by.  I have, for your entertainment, yet another victim … er … author in the hot seat.  The one … the only … Rebecca Hart, author of Call of the Sea, a paranormal romance novel.

Let’s start off with the down and dirty.  If you met a yum-terrific guy on the street corner, flashing you some killer abs because he has no shirt on his buff, tanned bod, and he just happened to have a time machine, where would you ask him to take you, and when?

I’m happy to see you’re starting off with softballs. I was a bit nervous about being a guest on your blog. As you know, I’m a bit of a fan of yours. I’d ask Mister McDreamy to take me back to the hay-day of pirates – the mid to late 17th century. I have had an obsession with all things pirate since early high school and summer trips with my girlfriend, Jackie to the Outer Banks.

Nervous of me?  *snort*  You’re so funny, and my bestest fan ever!  🙂  I’ve started to have a little pirate “thang”, too, since I met Capt’n Jack on the big screen. 😉 

Have you ever done what the author t-shirts threaten and written somebody you dislike into a story?  No need to name names and piss off a bunch of folks. 🙂

I haven’t exactly written them into a story, but I’ve certainly used some as models or composites for a few of my more nefarious characters. I actually have used some people I like into mine. Most notably, Nelson, Ellie’s best friend in Call of the Sea. He’s modeled after an IT co-worker of mine I’ve never met in person, but works for the same company in another office. Funny where we find inspiration, isn’t it?

That’s awesome!  Real life people are often more interesting than I could ever make up, so I’m with you on modeling characters after people we know.  What author do you most admire?  What about him/her earned the place at the top of your list?

Admire is different from favorite author, so I would have to say J.K Rowling is the one I most admire. As a single parent whose been on the lean side of life more than a few times, I’m inspired by what she has been able to accomplish. For me, she is the model of what is possible if you dare to dream it.

Not to mention she’s amazing at storytelling.  Yep, I’d agree with you there.  Speaking of amazing storytellers, what’s your favorite paragraph from Call of the Sea?  No spoilers now, just a nice, slow tease if you please.

This is one of my favorites. I think it just shows Ellie’s personality perfectly.

“I’ll do some digging into the general now that I’m back, and see what I can fish up. Someone has to know why he’s here in Newquay. It isn’t exactly a hub of military operations.”

She gave a nod. “Agreed. Meet me on The Siren’s Call in the morning. With or without Daniel, we need to get that new mast installed. If he doesn’t return soon, we’ll have to consider the possibility of going after Jashir without him.”

“Wouldn’t you have to steal his ship to do that?”

Ellie drew her shoulders up in a shrug. “Once a pirate, always a pirate.”

Oh yeah, love that attitude.  She’s got spunk, and you know I’m down with spunk!  🙂  Do you have any odd rituals when you write, like hop up and down or pinch a four leaf clover between your fingers before you sit at your desk?  Not that I do that, just saying. 

I don’t have them at home really, except loading some scene busting appropriate music, but in the summers I do as much writing as possible at camp. The woods and fresh air in the mornings really seems to help me focus. Plus, when we are at camp, my youngest daughter, Shelby is occupied with her friends, fun and fishing, so she leaves mommy to her laptop time without too much fuss.

That sounds divine!  Love camping, but we don’t seem to get out much.  Too many bugs up my way for 2/3 of the summer. 

Let’s talk about your hero in Call of the Sea, Daniel.  Where he come from?  Someone you know?  Dreams of the *ahem* daytime persuasion?  What makes him tick?  Inquiring minds would like to know.

This may sound just a bit strange, but Daniel is modeled after my father (also a Daniel) in personality. Yes, my dad is just that cool. As far as looks are concerned, Daniel is a cross between Kevin Sorbo of Hercules fame and Brad Pitt from Legends of the Fall. Tasty vittles, right?

*thrusts fist into the air* Yes!  That’s an awesome answer.  Dads rock, especially when you’re little and something freaks you out.  What scared you most as a child?

The basement at our old house in Eastland Park. It wasn’t so much that the room was creepy, but we had an old furnace system and the birds would sometimes make it down the chimney without being incinerated and get trapped in the basement. Nothing like going down to fold laundry or sort socks to be dive-bombed by a freaked out bird in a low ceiling basement. *shivers* As an adult, most of what scares me has to do with my children – their safety, happiness, etc.

*shivers*  Mine has to do with a basement, too, though it was more of a cellar with exposed rafters and oodles of spiders reaching down to grab me.  Seriously.  They did.  Okay, new topic now that I have the heebie-jeebies.  Are there any other fantastic novels waiting to burst free from your imagination in the future?

I certainly hope so. I have a fantasy series in the works that I am so excited about tentatively titled The Machenwood Chronicles — think Narnia meets Grimm’s fairy tales. I am hoping to have the first novel completed and ready for querying by fall — muse willing, of course. I have also had quite a few requests for a sequel to Call of the Sea, so that has possibilities as well.

I’ve read some of Machenwood, and that one has my vote.  Get it done, woman!  *cracks whip*  Querying is so hard, isn’t it?  Waiting totally blows.  Tell us about your road to publication.  Was it short and sweet?  Long and winding with many bumps?

Based on some of the stories I’ve heard from other aspiring writers, my road was short and sweet. I’ve been able to find homes for just about all of my completed tales and I have really only been submitting things for publication for slightly over a year. Call of the Sea was the first novel length work I’d written, so having that published is quite exciting.

Talent will do that to you.  Just sayin’.  😉 

If you could take any literary villain and place him in one of your books for the sole purpose of making his or her life hell, who would it be?  I’m so going to do this just for fun one of these days.

I’m in the process of doing just that with Rumpelstiltskin for my Machenwood series. He had always been one of the characters from childhood stories who really freaked me out. So, in the second book of the series, I decided to turn the tables on the nasty little dwarf. Unfortunately, I can’t tell you exactly WHAT I’ve done to him. You’ll have to read the book when it’s finished to find out. *evil grin*

You evil temptress, you!  And I will, read it, that is. 

There are a lot of stereotypes cast in a romance novelist’s direction, like they must sleep in slinky lingerie when most I’ve met are dressed from head to toe in flannel jammies when they hit the sack.  Are you a warm and comfy girl?  Or an in-the-buff or silk and satin kind of girl?

I’m so far into the flannel and comfy side of things I sometimes worry about my ability to actually be frilly and feminine. I’m sure my boyfriend does as well, occasionally. I love my fuzzy jammie pants and ten year old slippers. (Yes, they are really that old — and that comfy).

Geez, I had you pegged as an in-the-buff kind of girl.  I’m down with comfy.  🙂  How about your heroine, Ellie?  How much of you is in her? 

Ellie had more of me in her than I would like to admit. When I was growing up, my Pop (we weren’t allowed to call him Dad – he wouldn’t answer) used to call me his favorite smart-ass. Yeah, I didn’t have to stretch my imagination far to come up with Ellie Winters.

No wonder I like her!  What kind of high school personality were you?  Band dork?  Jock?  Loner?  Brainiac?

I was a fringer – or at least that is what I always called it. I knew the popular people because I was in sports, but I never got invited to their parties or football games. I had a smaller group of closer friends — maybe ten people I hung with on a regular basis.

That seems to be what most of us were, aware of the cliques, but clinging more to a small group of friends.  I find it fascinating how many authors have similar base personalities.  Yes, my dork is showing!  *snort*  Last, but not least, favorite food, as in need-to-get-a-room-to-be-alone-with-it, favorite.

This one is super easy… I would cross deserts for it. Haagen Dazs Pineapple Coconut Ice Cream. Hands down.

Wow, that does sound good.  I’ve never had that.  Now I hope the hell they sell it up here in Muskoka!  🙂

Let’s have a look at the book, shall we?

Back of the book:

There’s no denying the call of the sea.

Elysandra Winters has always yearned for a life of adventure on the rolling seas and is willing to do whatever it takes to fulfill her dream. When her Privateer father continually refuses to allow his only daughter to sail, Ellie defies him, disguises herself as a boy, and goes in search of a captain who will give her a chance to prove her worth.

Thanks to the cursed selkie blood coursing through his veins, Daniel O’Rourke needs the sea to survive. After giving up on his humanity and spending three years in seal form, he decides to give his human side another chance. Daniel goes in search of a job and a sense of normalcy, earning himself a position aboard Captain Winter’s ship, The Siren’s Call. However, his new captain’s first assignment has nothing at all to do with sailing, and everything to do with his headstrong young daughter.

Years later, when the leader of a band of bloodthirsty pirates murders Captain Winters, Daniel and Elysandra’s lives come crashing back together with the force of a hurricane. Both experts in deception, they must find a way to trust each other in order to quell the raging storm between them or have any hope of hunting down the captain’s killer.

Connect with Rebecca here:

Website / Twitter / Blog / Goodreads / Facebook / Tumblr

Pick up a copy here:

Amazon / B&N / Inkspell

One thought on “Has Rebecca Hart ever written someone she knows into a novel? #meettheauthor

Leave a Reply

