{Review} Devil’s Playground #TuesdayTurns

Have you ever read a series of books you were really torn about when it came to deciding how you felt about it?  The Morgan Kingsley series by Jenna Black was one of those for me.

Here’s the skinny on the last one I read courtesy of Goodreads:

Back of the book

Morgan Kingsley, a kick-ass exorcist, can deal with Lugh, the super sexy demon living inside her, but does he have to moan softly during her intimate moments with her mortal lover? Understandably, Brian is reluctant to share the pleasures of Morgan’s flesh with a gorgeous rogue from the Demon Realm.

But personal matters will have to wait when the opportunistic owner of the Seven Deadlies demon club in Philadelphia enlists Morgan’s help in heading off a crisis: It seems that demons have started showing up at the hot spot in alarming numbers and in the unwilling bodies of rough trade club-goers. Morgan is sure that Dougal, Lugh’s sworn enemy, is behind this, but why? To find out, Morgan must summon every ounce of power at her command – or risk becoming just another casualty in an all-out demon war.

Cover

I like most of this cover.  I like the fonts and colors.  I really like the black spidery-looking swirls behind the title giving it a dark feel.  What I’m not fond of is the woman.  She kind of reminds me of a frog – no offense to the model!  It’s the eye makeup, I think.  Weird.

Review

I really love the premise of this book.  Morgan is an exorcist who makes a living sending demons out of unwilling hosts and also boots demons who’ve committed crimes.  I like that there are actually willing hosts who want a demon to inhabit them, allowing them extra abilities they use for good.

It plays with the mind a bit, since demons historically are all evil and up to nothing good.  I love Lugh, the demon inside Morgan.  He’s complicated, trying to allow Morgan her dignity by not taking over her body, but is still willing to do whatever it takes to reach his goal, even hijack her body and block Morgan from even seeing what he was up to.

Whenever he took control I could always see both sides, why she was pissed and why he had to do it.  The sexual tension between the two is really great, too.  Brian is okay, but I always go for the bad boy, and in this one, that’s Lugh.  Okay, Adam’s pretty hot, too, but he’s batting for the other team and already has a hot play toy of his own.

In the beginning of the series I had a hard time reading because I really didn’t like Morgan but loved the rest of the cast.  She was incredibly whiny and made poor decisions that hurt a lot of people, especially Adam and his lover.  While I get that people make mistakes, she made nasty, petty ones that I had a hard time forgiving her for and wished someone would crack her one.

I have to say, though, by the time this book rolled around she’d grown enough that I didn’t roll my eyes whenever she opened her mouth.  I’ll definitely continue with the series as long as it remains well written and engaging, and would recommend it for anyone who likes the darker side of urban fantasy with lots of BDSM references, M/M relationships and enough hot demons roaming around the pages.

One thought on “{Review} Devil’s Playground #TuesdayTurns

  1. I’ve read books where the character was outright annoying UNTIL she embraced her dark side a little more and quit with the bitching. That sounds like it was the case here for a while?

Leave a Reply

