Where would Steve McHugh go if he had a time machine? #MeetTheAuthor

Welcome back to Meet the Author!  Today we’re dissecting … er, I mean talking with Steve McHugh, author of the urban fantasy, Crimes Against Magic. 

Thanks for coming to visit, Steve.  I always thought it would be fun to have a time machine.  If I gave you one right this minute, where would you go, and when?

I’d want to go to so many places, like Bill and Ted did, but with less blatant drug use. Ancient Rome would be pretty cool. To hear how they actually spoke and see all of those ruins and monuments as they really were would be amazing.

Ha!  Okay, so I admit that I loved Bill & Ted’s excellent adventures, too.  And I agree, Rome would be pretty neat, though I’d hate to tick off the wrong person and end up on the wrong side of a lion.  Yikes!  Speaking of getting ticked off, have you ever done what the author t-shirts threaten and written somebody you dislike into a story?

I did have someone I dislike put into a story I’d written and then had them murdered in a fairly unpleasant way. I think it’s fairly therapeutic to do it. And it’s much cheaper than a psychologist too.

All, right!  I’ve always wanted to do that.  I bet it would be most satisfying.  *taps chin wearing devilish grin*  Yes, I might just have to try that. 

I have to know, having my own pen-wielding heroes and all, what author do you most admire?

Terry Pratchett. Mostly due to his ability to write so many books, and still keep them interesting and exciting. I love all the discworld novels, but the fact that he can keep putting them out, alongside non-discworld stuff and maintain that momentum of fresh stories is something I’d love to be able to do one day.

Huh, I’ve never read anything by him.  I’ll have to pick one up and give it a look-see.  That leads me to another book headed for my TBR pile.  Why not give us a little taste of Crimes Against Magic, a little tease, if you please?  How about you give us your favorite paragraph?

I have a few favorites that I love, but they also contain huge spoilers, so I decided on this:

I shook my head. “You will die here, today. The only question is how. Thomas there is a good man. Your death will be quick and painless.” The werewolf looked up at the rage-filled Englishman. I motioned for Thomas to walk off as I made my way to the crippled werewolf. “I am not a good man,” I whispered into his ear when we were alone. “I will strip the flesh from your bones and scatter your ashes to the wind. I will ensure that for the next thousand years, the merest mention of what I did to you in this city will evoke fear into anyone foolish enough to think they can cross a sorcerer.”

Oh, geez!  I like him already!  Your sorcerer and my Lila Gray should get together and make some kick-ass babies.  Definitely gotta read this one.  Are there any other fantastic novels waiting to burst free from your imagination in the future?

The second book in the series, Born of Hatred, should be out in the next six months. It deals with the undead, although no zombies. And then Book three, With Silent Screams, hopefully the beginning of next year.

I have ideas for a bunch of other books outside of the Hellequin Chronicles, but they’re going to have to simmer for now.

Well, you just need to order a clone of yourself and write them all at the same time!  Okay, so I already tried that and it’s too damned expensive.  I guess we’ll just have to wait.  In the meantime, if you could be a superhero, what would your power be?

Iron Man. He’s just so cool, and being that smart and that rich and having a job where you get to fly around in a suit of armour, shooting bad-guys with lasers. That doesn’t sound like a very bad life.

Yes!  He’s my favorite, too, along with Wolverine.  It’s all in the attitude, isn’t it?

If you could choose to be any supernatural being, werewolf, vampire, god, demon, what would it be?

My first thought was god, but I’d just spend all day smiting people who annoyed me. Which, while initially fun, would probably get boring after a while. I’d like to be an elemental. Someone that could bend the elements around them to their whim. That would be superb.

If you could live your life as an animal, what would it be and why?

An orca. They’re smart, they live in social groups, so you’re unlikely to get bored. And nothing messes with orca, they’re the badass’ of the oceans. And if you’re going to have to spend your life as an animal, make it a cool one.

Oh, I totally agree.  But I have to say, since I watched a movie when I was a kid–I think it was actually called “Orca”–they scare the bajeepers out of me.  Yep, I’d be staying FAAAAR away from you.  🙂

Back of the book

It’s been almost ten years since Nathan Garrett woke on a cold warehouse floor with nothing but a gun, a sword, and no idea of who he was or how he got there. His only clue … a piece of paper with his name on it. Since then, he’s discovered he’s a powerful sorcerer and has used his abilities to work as a thief for hire. But he’s never stopped hunting for his true identity, and those who erased his memory have never stopped hunting for him. When the barrier holding his past captive begins to crumble, Nathan swears to protect a young girl who is key to his enemy’s plans. But with his enemies closing in, and everyone he cares about becoming a target for their wrath, Nathan is forced to choose between the life he’s built for himself and the one buried deep inside him.

Crimes Against Magic is an Urban Fantasy set in modern day London with Historical flashbacks to early fifteenth century France. It’s the first in a series of books called the Hellequin Chronicles, which shows the life of sorcerer Nathan (Nate) Garrett.

Connect with Steve here:

 Blog: http://stevejmchugh.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/StevejMchugh

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5819903.Steve_McHugh

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Hiddenrealmspublishing

Find Crimes Against Magic here:

 Amazon.com

 Amazon.co.uk

 Paperback and Smashwords copies to be released at a later date.

One thought on “Where would Steve McHugh go if he had a time machine? #MeetTheAuthor

  1. Pingback: We’re Going to Talk About Fight Club part 2 « Steve McHugh

Leave a Reply

