Was Karen A. Wyle a band dork or a braniac in school? #MeetTheAuthor

Welcome to the first edition of Meet the Author, where we strip ’em down, put ’em under the microscope and find out what makes the mind of an author tick.  Today we’re crawling into the imagination of Karen A. Wyle, author and mastermind behind Twin-Bred, a SciFi novel.

Great to meet you, Karen!  Let’s start off with an easy one.  If you met a yummy man who had a time machine, where would you ask him to take you, and when?

I’m assuming I have some sort of convenient memory lapse about the fact that I’m married to a man with no time machine?

Oh yes, that would be a good assumption. ::wink wink, nudge, nudge::  We’ll all zip our lips, right folks?  What hubby doesn’t know won’t hurt him. 😉

As a science fiction author (some of the time), a technophile, and somewhat of an optimist, I’d want Mr. Yummy to take me to a time in the future when we’ve largely conquered mortality, and have not only material abundance but even greater ability to share ideas and artistic creations. I’d meet my great-great-grandchildren and catch up with my still-going-strong daughters. Then we’d enjoy some private time in a spaceship surrounded by galaxies and nebulae, in a low-gravity environment, where all sorts of intriguing things would be possible. 😉

Aw, that is so sweet about your daughters, and dang, I’d never thought about that possibility!  And space, now that’s an answer I didn’t expect, either.  Neat.  It would scare the bajeepers out of me to be so far from home, I think.  Speaking of fears, what scared you most as a child?

Spiders. I was terrified of spiders. I remember absolutely refusing to go to sleep in my bedroom after I’d spotted a small spider there. My mother searched the room and allegedly found it. At the time, I had no doubts. Having since met and resisted the temptation to fib in that situation, I’m no longer certain.

Yikes.  You and me, both.  Hate the nasty little critters.  Now that you’re all grown up, are you still as squicked out by them as I am?

I’m still afraid of spiders, especially wolf spiders, who occasionally stray in from the woods around our house. However, one of the interesting and useful aspects of becoming a parent is having to put aside your fear in order to (a) calm your frightened child and (b) cope with the situation. That habit of self-control has helped, even when I’m the only one home.

Oh, yuck.  ::shivers::  We don’t have any of those big hairy things up here in Canada, and thank goodness or I’d have to move!  Maybe the heroine of your book can protect me?  How much of you is in Mara? 

Like Mara, I’m impatient, though less likely to explode as a result.  I am no scientist, but I have an inquiring mind. I’m persistent and stubborn, as Mara is.  Finally, neither Mara nor I have a great track record at forming and maintaining social connections, although both of us are getting better at it.

Wow, you kinda just described me, too.  Weird.  Common author traits, maybe?  Do you have any quirks?  Odd little tidbits about you that few people know?

I have motor tics. People who know me IRL (in real life) presumably know about them, though they’re minor enough that I’d guess not everyone notices.

I tend to rehearse various unlikely and dire situations in my head, just in case they ever happen. Then I worry that some passing telepath will pick up something out of context and be alarmed — so I broadcast a reassuring message. (I don’t quite, exactly, believe in telepathy, let alone that it’s common enough for me to encounter a telepath, but you never know. . . .)

*snort*  I’m often glad nobody can see what’s sailing through my head most of the time, too.  I think everyone would run screaming from us if they could.  What kind of high school personality were you?  Band dork?  Jock?  Loner?  Brainiac?

I was a brainiac loner of sorts. The popular bright kids liked me well enough and allowed me to hover on the fringes of their group. I was also one of a foursome of close friends, all somewhat outside the high school mainstream.

Right on!  A brainiac in our midst!  Me, I just married the brainiac.  If you could be a superhero, what would your power be?

I would have the power to make people think rationally and put aside atavistic instinctive emotional responses. (I’m emphatically not saying that I’d do away with all emotional and instinctive responses! I’d just suppress them when they were intruding where they didn’t belong.)

Geez, that would be the day, right?  A down-with-idiocy warrior. Love it! 

What does your dream house look like, including an ideal oasis from which to write your masterpieces?

Oh, I like spending time here, even in imagination … It’s an old but somehow well-maintained white farm house, with a big front porch and a large front yard full of good climbing trees. The bus stop is just down the road, but not right outside the house. There’s a big pond behind the house, surrounded by willows and other trees, supplied by some spring or aquifer so the water stays fresh and makes for good swimming. The house has large, airy upstairs rooms that look out into tree branches, probably maple. There are no tornadoes to worry about. I write in one of those rooms, looking out the window at the pond.

Having grown up in a farm house, that sounds positively divine.  What would you eat there?  Your favorite food, as in need-to-get-a-room-to-be-alone-with-it, favorite.

Dark chocolate truffles. Excuse me while I drool.

Oh, yum!  Thanks so much for opening your little box of secrets to us today, Karen, it’s been fun poking at you.  🙂  Twin-Bred will be going straight into my TBR list.  Check out the deets:

Back of the book:

After seventy years on Tofarn, the human colonists still know very little about the native Tofa, and vice-versa.  Misunderstanding breed conflict, and the conflicts are escalating.  Scientist Mara Cadell’s radical proposal: that host mothers of either species carry fraternal twins, human and Tofa, in the hope that the bond between twins can bridge the gap between species.  Mara lost her own twin, Levi, in utero, but she has secretly kept him alive in her mind as companion and collaborator.

Mara succeeds in obtaining governmental backing for her project – but both the human and Tofa establishments have their own agendas.  Mara must shepherd the Twin-Bred through dangers she anticipated and others that even the canny Levi could not foresee.  Will the Twin-Bred bring peace, war, or something else entirely? . . .

You can find Karen’s little lovely here:

–Kindle on Amazon: http://amzn.to/u2OtVP

–Paperback on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Twin-Bred-Karen-Wyle/dp/1463578911/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

–Nook store: http://bit.ly/Ji0wxT

–Paperback on Barnes & Noble online: http://bit.ly/xsyzwL

–Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/94490

Connect with Karen here:

www.KarenAWyle.net

www.facebook.com/KarenAWyle or www.facebook.com/TwinBred

5 thoughts on “Was Karen A. Wyle a band dork or a braniac in school? #MeetTheAuthor

  1. Can I come live with you in your imaginary house?

    Twin-bred sounds intriguing. It sounds like an interesting mix of sci-fi with “human drama.” Off to the Nook store….

  2. What a fun and interesting way to do an interview. It’s nice to read something different! “power to make people think rationally” may challenge the suspension of disbelief though. 😉

    The book sounds good, I like the concept. Twins have always fascinated me.

Leave a Reply

