{Book Review} Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning #tuesdayturns

I don’t often find an author that really impresses me.  When I picked up the first book of the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning, I have to say, I thought it was going to be another disappointment.  My, but was I wrong.

I give the series a full five stars, and would give a few more if there were any.

If you’d like to read the blurbs from these books, here’s a link to KMM’s goodreads page, where you can find anything you want to know:  Click here.

Cover:  The cover is just okay for me.  Nothing really special about, but that’s neither here nor there.

The Content is where it’s at:

As I mentioned, I read book one of this series over a span of a few days.  Within a few chapters, I put it down again for one reason:  I hated the writing style.

What, you ask?  How could that be when she’s a famous, successful, published author?  I didn’t like that the author told so much.  She’d tell me what was about to happen, jump ahead a few scenes, then tell what had happened during the action-packed bits we’d skipped over instead of showing us those scenes.  I wanted those scenes.  I needed those scenes.

Having said that, I kept picking the book back up.  Suddenly I was devouring the second.  Then the third, and didn’t stop until I reached the end of this the series, book 5, Shadowfever.  What the hell?  What was it about the books, with a writing style I hated, that kept drawing me back in like the Sinsaur Duhb itself?

Just the story?  The characters?  The incredible heat between Mac and Jericoh?  The intrigue of what he was, what she was?  The sex-by-death fae?  The silvers?  The mystery of the king and his concubine?  The depth of thought that came out of the dialogue and interactions?  The answer is, all of the above.  And how.  I’ve never been so enthralled with the complexity of the story and characters, the building of layers as the books went along and we learned a little more about everyone.

I loved Jericoh, a total wild card.  Hot.  Mysterious.  He had me guessing until the very end as to his motives and how he felt about Mac.  She, too, is a mystery up until the end and it’s rare I haven’t figured out the plot before it plays out.  This is a clever series that taught me a lot about layers of writing, some surface, some middle, and some so deep I had to stop and consider the meaning before going on.

All in all, this series is imaginative and thought provoking.  I still missed my scenes, but it wasn’t enough to hinder my enjoyment.  This is a series I’ll probably read multiple times and find more hidden gems each time through.  I’d recommend it for lovers of big girl urban fantasy and paranormal romance novels.

Have you read it?  What did you think?

5 thoughts on “{Book Review} Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning #tuesdayturns

  1. Yep. What you said. But I rate the series in its entirety as a 4, simply because I was almost to the end of book 3 before she had me hook, line & sinker. 🙂

    • I would agree that book 1, had I been rating just it, would have been a 3-star, but the rest of the series knocked my socks off enough to forgive that one. 🙂

  2. Karen Moning is simply my favorite author! Complemante I’m passionate about her writing style. The entire complexity of plot and dialogue!

    • Yes, complex is right, how all of the tiny details came in through out. One of my favorite lines in the book is from Barrons: “You’re going to leave me soon, rainbow girl.” I thought him calling her that in book 1? or maybe 2? was kind of corny, but it was so touching in that moment.

  3. I cry in that part, was very profound. They (Barrons and Mac) live a different kind of relationship, some people tend not to like, but if you read carefully you will see the load sentimental, very great between them.
    Sorry, my English is bad writing!

Leave a Reply

