I have a contract, now what?

So, my dream came true.  I have a signed contract for my debut novel, The Glass Man, with J. Taylor Publishing in my hands. 

Now what?

How do I, a relatively new author from small town Ontario, try to sell a book when nobody in the literary world, or anywhere for that matter, knows I exist?  Therein lies the million dollar question.  I have 108 days before the release date of The Glass Man on October 15th, and I’d better use them wisely.

My first tool:  Social networking sites.  I have no clue how authors sold books before these handy-dandy little websites connected authors with fans of their genre and other writers.  Although I don’t yet have my book cover, or my approved blurb to flash before everyone’s eyes–and its far too early for that anyway–I can still get to know other authors and readers.  Which I’m doing daily.  Faithfully.  Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and my Wordpress blog all spread the little threads of my network farther than I ever could by myself.   Thank you internet!

Great.  What next?

Read, read, read.  Another great way to connect with authors and readers is to join book review sites such as Goodreads and Shelfari from Amazon.  Eventually my book will be listed on there, so the more I read and support other authors both starting out and established, the more connections I make, and the more support I could potentially gain for my own writing.  All while enjoying myself with a good read.  Sweet!

Okay, so I’ve done/am doing that.  I can just sit back and relax, let the lineup of people wanting to buy my book extend around the proverbial block, right?  Mehhh! 

Wrong. 

One novel does not an author make.  Nor two.  Probably not even three unless a person is extremely fortunate.

While I’m gearing up for the release of one book, I need to be writing more.  Although I have another completed novel sitting in the wings, I need to write and edit book two of the Lila Gray series to follow up the Glass Man hopefully next year.  I’m also preparing short stories and novellas to pop my name into literary magazines and ezines. 

As the big day creeps closer, I’ll be adding more to my daily and weekly to-do lists thanks to the valuable information provided by my publisher, J. Taylor.   For now, I need to get eyes back on my story.

16 thoughts on “I have a contract, now what?

  1. Hi Jo..I love reading these posts..they are so enlightening…..keep them coming..I know once your book gets out there you will be selling them..once your name gets known ..you will be famous and popular..keep up the good work..Mom

  2. Congratulations! Can you do a book signing/talk tour in your region? Local arts programs on radio and tv for interviews? Takes a lot of time to market one’s work. Good luck!

    • Thanks! Yes, I intend to do all of that and more. And I agree, it takes a lot of time to market a book, but I’m ready and willing. 🙂

  3. Congrats! You must be SO excited! I used to go to camp near Huntsville, so know you’re about 4 hours north of Toronto….will you bother heading down there to try to do some events?

    My new book is out April 14, a memoir, and I’ve been working on promotion (using many of the same methods as you) since it was accepted in September 2010. You sound like you have a good handle on what’s needed.

    http://malledthebook.com/

    Good luck!

    • Thanks! I am, very excited. Did you to to camp Tawingo? I live about 1/2 mile from there. Small world. Yes, absolutely I’ll be hitting up some of the larger book stores in Toronto to offer a book signing and hopefully convince them to stock my book.

      Wow, your book release is almost here. Good luck!

  4. As far as Goodreads, you might see if you can get an author profile. Once you have one, you can input information for your book manually even though it’s not available for sale yet. That way folks can start putting it on their reading lists. Add the cover art when it becomes available. 🙂

    Wishing lots of luck!

  5. Goodness, Jocelyn. You’ve sure opened my eyes. We’re all working towards that elusive contract and lose sight of the hard work that comes after signing. You’re dedicated to your art, a real talent; I’m sure your book will fly off the virtual shelves 🙂

  6. Right here is the right web site for everyone who really wants to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a subject which has been written about for decades. Excellent stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

