The reality behind the glamor

The reality of publishing my book settled in today, when I received a proof of my book cover.

Holy schmolies! This is really happening!

I’d never given much thought to the hard work that goes into publishing a book. Networking. Designing a website and hooking up accounts to every social networking site available. Becoming a great researcher as well as a sales person. Investigating every little niche that might be interested in buying my book. Tax wheeling and dealing with the IRS. The thought that goes behind the design of a book cover.

Lucky for me, my publisher, J. Taylor Publishing, has laid out a step-by-step road map for me to follow. They’re there with excellent answers to all of my questions, and treat me as a person instead of a number. I know there is much to do and learn before October 15th, but I also know someone is there to keep me on the right path toward success.

One foot in front of the other.  Dig deep.  Leave no part of the unknown publishing world unexplored.  That’s my motto, and I’ll stick to it until I’m holding The Glass Man in my hot little hands.

First step:  edit the manuscript as thoroughly as I’m able, and find the courage to let it go into the hands of my editor.

4 thoughts on “The reality behind the glamor

  1. Yep. It most certainly is mighty hard work. And you’re right that letting go of the novel is a toughie, because we all have to reach a level of acceptance that we’ve done all we can on an ms. But you’ll be fine. And I’ll prod you onto your route, if you stray or need it 🙂

  2. Freakishly scary, huh? I’m starting to wig out because my cover will release April 2nd. That’s like 2 weeks away. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! 🙂 But it’s all good. Deep breaths and keep on plugging along! 🙂

Leave a Reply

