The wait is over

Here it is, the news I never imagined I’d be shouting from the roof tops:  The Glass Man is going to be PUBLISHED!!!!!

Yep, you heard me right.

I’m still in shock. 

Still not convinced this isn’t some elaborate joke or a dream I’m about to wake up from.  Man, I hope not.

When I picked up my laptop last summer after the worst work experience of my career ended, I never imagined I’d write a novel that would be worth reading, nor that I would be signing a contract to publish said novel a mere eight months later.   Not when there are fantastic authors out there who try for decades to have their work published, and some never succeed despite their entertaining stories and likeable characters. 

So why am I so lucky?  How did I find the magic fortune cookie just when I needed it most?

I’m not sure I know, but I’m entirely grateful all the same. 

We all love our characters and how they react to the hard roads we put them on, but I put my work out there prepared for years of rejection and the possibility that The Glass Man would never make it past my doorstep, that nobody would ever read the trials of Lila Gray.

Lack of confidence?  Or realism?  Maybe both?  Either way, I wanted it badly enough I tried anyway, and look where I am now–living my dream.

I firmly believe that if I hadn’t met my writing group, I’d still be floudering, still editing the first chapter of my novel instead of polishing it to go to print.  To all of you at Scribophile who knocked me down and built me back up while I wrote this book, I bow to you, offer you my sincere gratitude.  I wouldn’t be soaring if you hadn’t taught me how to fly.


8 thoughts on “The wait is over

  1. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always exciting to read through content from other writers and practice a little something from other sites.

Leave a Reply

