Interview with Charley Randall

Have you ever met a Mimic?  Me either.  That’s why I was thrilled with Charley Randall from Aimee Laine’s Little White Lies agreed to an exclusive interview with me.

I bet you’ve been some interesting people over your lifetime.  Who is the most memorable person you’ve ever mimicked and why?

Okay, well … hmmm… you know, that’s a really hard question because in any given year, I could have been 10-12 people. Sometimes more. Add that up over my ::cough:: … uh … 200 years and well, that’s … a lot of different folks. I can’t really name names, but I’ve played a few princesses, one of the English
variety and one who never had the title ‘princess’ but should have back in the … well … middle of the 20th century. You’d be amazed at what goes on behind
the curtains of ‘royalty’ … then again, it’s really no different than in my own house, just totally in the public eye.  ::wink::

You’ve lived ever little girl’s dream, to be a princess for a day.  How cool is that?  How weird was it the first time you stood in front of the mirror as someone else?  I mean, sometimes I stand in front of the mirror and my own reflection startles the hell out of me.  :)

Well … I was 13 at the time and had just figured out what I could do. I didn’t have anyone around at the time, so the first thing I did was … um … well
… enhance my 13 year old cleavage if you know what I mean. From there, I started enhancing other areas until I took on my Mom’s shape. She was a
beautiful woman, a Mimic, too, but one who’d blended with my Dad fifteen years before. Of course I didn’t know she was a Mimic as she’d avoided the
“you’re going to be able to change your shape” conversation the way today’s moms avoid the birds and bees conversation.

Right on!  I wish I could enhance my cleavage!  Hey, I’m curious about the Mimics.  Is there some sort of governing body you answer to?

There is always a governing body … for all ‘otherworldy’ beings or humans with supernatural abilities. As long as you don’t let those who aren’t on a need to know basis … know … then they stay out of our lives. I’ve never had to deal with them in all my years.

That’s good, because it sounds like you have enough of the US government bossing you around without having your own, too.  What’s the deal with Lily and Cael?  Are we going to find out in book two what’s keeping them apart?

::sigh::  Lily and Cael. I think you’ll learn, yes. The two of them are meant for each other. They really are. They always have been. They know it too, but Lily …  well … Lily’s a bit of a shattered soul. She hides it really well and  sometimes, you’d never know it. She needs to come to grips with a few things
before she’ll ever accept Cael. And Cael? Well … he may be big and strong and  fierce, but when it comes to Lily, he’s the biggest teddy bear around. He’ll do
anything for her, including wait until she comes to her senses.

I really hope she comes to those senses soon.  Her loyal fans want to know how their story ends, dammit!  Okay, now that that’s out of my system, moving on.  Knowing Wyatt loved and wondered about you all  the years you were separated, if you could go back to that night of the dance, would you still walk away?

::very very slow blink:: Yeah, I would. ::deep breath in:: It was the hardest thing  I’ve ever done, but it was important. It was necessary. He needed to experience life before he got saddled with me, which at 18, that’s exactly what would have happened to him.

Yeah, I get that.  You’re definitely stronger than I would have been had I been in you’re shoes.   What’s your single biggest regret?

I have no regrets. Everything I’ve done has been for a reason and while that reason might seem to have spurred regrets, after 200 years, I know not to look
at them that way. They were right at the time and since time travel isn’t … well … they were right at the time.

What an awesome attitude.  If only we could all look at our lives that way, there’d be loads of happier folks in the world.  Do you still visit James and the clan since your “change”?  Do you miss the way you used to be?

James,  Cael, Lily and now Wyatt and I are a team. There is no ‘visiting’ though I did  move out of my house and into Wyatt’s. We still see each other every day because we work together … well … I should say they all work together and  are trying to keep me out, but we’ll be having none of that in short order. I
have plans. They’ll just have to get over it. Just because I can’t look like someone else without a little stage makeup doesn’t mean I’m not still 100%
useful.

Ooo, sounds like a battle’s a brewin’.  What’s in store next for you and Wyatt? Any juicy details to share with us?  ::wink wink::

Well … right now we’re planning our wedding. It’s been really fun having my dress designed. Actually, this is really only the second dress I’ve ever picked for an event — Lily does most of my selection because they’ve all been ‘covers’ for others. So the first one I picked was for the dance 16 years ago. This time, I’ve combined what I picked back then with a little extra from Lily’s dress. If you can picture it … it’ll be a mix of the two … sort of. I’m just hopeful
Wyatt will like it because … well … he liked the last one. ::wink::

That was awesome, right?  Thanks to Charley for stopping in and here’s hoping your wedding day is bright and sunny and free of mishaps.  Can’t wait to read on in your story.

For more on Charley and the rest of the memerable characters from Little White Lies, here’s some info on this must-have summer read.

Back Cover Blurb:

When the government needs a body double for a covert operation, they hire shape-shifter Charley Randall. For two centuries, she’s played every part from foreign dignitary to office drone. The role she wants most, though, is one she’s denied herself three times already.

FBI Agent Wyatt Moreland believes Charley’s photographic memory is the key to his latest assignment. He’s oblivious to the true extent of her abilities, but he can’t deny the sense of déjà vu at their introduction.

Unlike Wyatt, Charley knows this isn’t their first meeting.

It’s their fourth.

The girl he vowed to love, sixteen years before, stands in front of him in her true form — one he’ll never recognize.

With each reconnection, Charley loves him more though she realizes this is her last chance to explain. Only absolute truth can bring them happiness, but can Wyatt forgive her deceptions? Or will lies tear them apart forever?

Useful links:

www.aimeelaine.com

http://www.jtaylorpublishing.com/books/3

Buy at Amazon.com

Buy at Barnes & Noble

7 thoughts on “Interview with Charley Randall

Leave a Reply

